Common Place Books – Why Should You Keep One?

A commonplace book is defined (according to Google) as: “a book into which notable extracts from other works are copied for personal use.”


I use my commonplace book as a place to assemble quotes from people, books, and poems. Whenever I find something that strikes me as beautiful I write it down in my commonplace book. I have quotes from the Lord of the Rings to Leonardo Da Vinci.

But why should you keep one? It’s simple really. Commonplace books can be used to great effect even if you aren’t a writer. It’s a single place to keep words that make you think, words that strike your heart. You can draw in your commonplace book. You can write original works in your commonplace book. . You could even keep your commonplace book in the style of a bullet journal.There is no one way to do it.

It’s an easy way to remember things (as people are prone to forget) in one place, or to be able to flip through and receive inspiration. But this isn’t just a place for random facts or sentences to slap in a book. These words must mean something to you. Over time, this book – be it years, months, even your entire life -, will accumulate stores of wisdom and knowledge. What’s even better is that it’s not a journal; you don’t have to feel accountability to write in it every single day. Only when you hear, read or think of something beautiful or meaningful.

I hope this was insightful and that you decide to make a commonplace book. It’s easy to start. Just find a notebook, nothing specific, just make sure it’s one you won’t throw away. Blank pages or lined, doesn’t matter. And place it somewhere you won’t forget about it. The next time you read something you love, something that makes you close the book and put it down and think, if you want to, put it in your commonplace book.

Should I start sharing with you my commonplace book? Tell me in the comments below. Also, if you already have a commonplace book, feel free to share your favorite entries in the comments below.

Until next time, my friends. বিদায় – Wysteria

 

2 thoughts on “Common Place Books – Why Should You Keep One?

  1. Wysteria – Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts and ideas on your blog! I’m enjoying it very much. I love the concept of a common place book. Can you believe I’ve never heard of it before? I absolutely think you should share from your common place book. You have inspired me to start my own —
    thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

