Shadows of the Herswald Launch/Book Review

 

unnamed
A battered soldier from a defeated army, Haydn knows the only end to the arrival of the Prince’s governor is chains, followed by punishment and possible execution. Except he hasn’t counted on the Prince himself. Or the pardon which his recent foe has declared to acquit all those who fought against him.

A pardon Haydn detests.

A pardon that refuses to punish the rebels now threatening his own village. And his sister.

Guilt-ridden from his own actions during the war, Haydn knows there are others who have no conscience at all. Others who are using the freedom of the pardon to forward their own desperate schemes.

With enemies closing in on all sides, a pardon that refuses punishment, and nightmares of murder and fire haunting his every thought, will Haydn recognize the truth or will his fear condemn everything he loves to destruction?

Each novella in my Legends of Light series stands alone, only connected by the chronology of Aslaria’s history. If you love fantasy, retold fairy tales, and Christian themes that are woven into a story instead of being preached at you, check out Shadows of the Hersweald today!

For less than the price of a Starbucks coffee, you can own an exciting retelling that will plunge you into a fantasy world full of danger and love, loyalty and fear.

My Review:

As this book is a retelling of Hansel and Gretel, I was excited to see how Hope Ann would pull this off. I have read many fairy tale retellings but this one I’ve never encountered. The action was well written and the characters had depth. I applaud Hope Ann for her work, and I know there was much of it involved. I would say that from about ages 10+ would enjoy this book. But I do believe it is geared for a more mid-highschool age range.

Meet the Characters:

Hadyn: A former rebel who is used to violence, and doesn’t believe the prince’s pardon will ever solve the problems in the world. He prefers to do things by force.

It is longer than I expected but I think that’s the only character I’ll give a peek into. 🙂

Overall: picture1

I signed up for the launch team so I have an interview from the Author:

Hope Ann: Ask me three questions and I will answer them.

Me: What initially inspired you to undertake Shadows of Herswald?

Hope Ann: Well, I already had the theme for my next novella, peace. And I’d a few fairy tales to pick from. Once I picked Hansel and Gretel, the two main ideas I started from was 1. I knew there would be rogue rebels in the forest and 2. I knew the main character would refuse to accept the pardon of the Prince.

Me: What made you come up with Steig der? (I know it means “the rose” but why?)
Hope Ann: The Steig der is the forbidden rose that was picked way back at the Separation (I’m currently working on that story in Rose of the Night). The name actually has German roots and, loosely translated, means ‘the rising up’. I put that combination together because the plucking of the rose was the original rising up in rebellion against the King.

Me: Describe Hadyn in one word and his mission/purpose in two words.
Hope Ann: One word – Determined. Two words – Resolute Protector
unnamed.png
Don’t forget! There is another story in this universe! Mercy of Fate. ‘Tis free! Here’s the link: Mercy of Fate There is, I believe a signup inside the beginning of the ebook of Shadows of the Herswald to get this book as well.
Marcy of Fate Graphic to Go here!
Go here to buy the book: Buy Shadows of the Herswald $2.99
I seriously hope you enjoy the book as much as I did! Be sure to check out Hope Ann on her Blog: Writing in the Light
Hope to see you guys again soon! -Wysteria
3 thoughts on “Shadows of the Herswald Launch/Book Review

Leave a Reply

