How to Make a Pen Name

Okay, eons ago, I promised this post. Here it is. The post that inspired this one is: Pen Names – Why Have One?

 

To walk you through this process, I’m going to tell you how I made mine. *audience gasps* WHAT! THAT’S NOT YOUR REAL NAME? No, no it’s not. But I still love it. To be honest it is so much stinking fun to come up with or be referred to with a pen name. I don’t know about anyone else, but it makes me feel a little bit more professional. There are actually 2 simple steps.

  1. Did I want a full name?

There are any initial questions you have to ask yourself:

Did I want Initials for a first and last name, initials for first, middle, and last, an initial for my middle name… or even just one initial..? Did I want three names or more? One name? And if so, first or last?

Obviously, I chose first and last name, no middle.

2. What should my chosen names be?

Think about a few things:

  1. What is special to me?
  2. Who is special to me?
  3. What is my favorite thing?
  4. What do I see out the window, or across the park etc?

I came up with the name Wysteria while riding in the car and there was a huge thing of Wisteria plants growing on the roadside. I looked up the name, and it wasn’t that common, so I changed the spelling to the alternate “y”…you have no idea how annoying spell checkers can be. *sighs*

Campion is the name of a bunny from Watership down. I was re-reading the book (it’s so good!), and Campion’s name just stuck out at me. I paired it with Wysteria and I loved the combination. So you see, I answered a few questions with this:

So you see, I answered a few questions with this:

Wysteria: I answered questions 3 and 4

Campion: I answered 1, 2, and 3

Coming up with a pen name is easy, and fun, and is probably at some point going to be extremely helpful. You could even use this formula to come up with character names.

 

One thought on “How to Make a Pen Name

Leave a Reply

