Missed by a Whisker

Thud! I picked myself up off the dusty ground. I looked up at my surroundings. A sheer cliff face rose above me about four feet taller than myself. I heard the soft padding of paws as the face of a lioness peered over the edge of the cliff. I head more paws coming from all directions and soft growls began to electrify the air. The hair on my arms stood up as I waited, petrified, the Lions didn’t move and neither did I. We stood, not moving for ages, until finally, they pounced. I screamed and tried to scramble up the slippery cement wall from which I came. I felt a hand grab my arm and pull me into a doorway. The door slammed shut behind me, and I stood face to face with the zookeeper. She glared at me, clearly not know whether to be relieved or whether to scold me.

“Young, man, you have explaining to do.” And she led me away. Probably I was going to be arrested or something, but honestly, I was just too relieved to be away from those lions.

2 thoughts on “Missed by a Whisker

Leave a Reply

