Commonplace Books 9

More of my favorite quotes on Writing/Literature:

“A classic is a book that has never finished saying what it has to say.” -Itales Calvino

“If a poem hasn’t ripped apart your soul; you haven’t experienced poetry.” -Edgar Allen Poe

“I write to give myself strength I write to be the characters that I am not. I write to explore all the things I’m afraid of.” -Joss Wheadon

“My greatest fears are being too much and not enough.” -HM

“In writing. Don’t use adjectives with merely tell us how you want us to feel about the thing you are describing. I mean instead of telling us the thing was “terrible” describe it so that we’ll be terrified. Don’t say it was “delightful”; make us say “delightful” when we’ve read the description. You see, all those words (horrifying, wonderful, hideous, exquisite) are only like saying to your readers, “Please will you do my job for me.”

-Frim C.S. Lewis in a letter he wrote to a young student in 1958

One thought on “Commonplace Books 9

Leave a Reply

